US media: 8 states exempted from anti-Iran oil sanctions

Tehran, Nov 2, IRNA – The American media ‘Bloomberg’ announced on Friday that the US administration exempted eight countries from oil sanctions against Iran.

“The US has agreed to let eight countries including Japan, India and South Korea keep buying Iranian oil after it reimposes sanctions on the OPEC producer on Nov. 5,” Bloomberg quoted a senior administration official as saying.

“China the leading importer of Iranian oil is still in discussions with the US on terms, but is among the eight,” he added.

Meanwhile, the media quoted another official in the US administration as saying “waivers are only temporary, and the US will expect countries that get them to keep cutting Iranian imports in the months ahead.”

This is while, Turkish Energy Minister Fatih Donmez announced that his country has been exempted from the US oil sanctions.

Iran is regarded as one of the most important trade partners for Turkey, he said earlier.

Exemptions from the US sanctions indicates countries’ reaction against Trump’s unilateral decision against Iran.

The US failure in decreasing Iran oil exports to zero becomes more apparent every day.


Follow us on Twitter @IrnaEnglish